Bridge of Lions

Published by at under St. Augustine

The Bridge of Lions spans the Intracoastal Waterway and connects downtown St. Augustine to Anastasia Island. Lions made of marble guard the bridge, begun in 1925 and completed in 1927 across Matanzas Bay. From its earliest days, it was hailed as “The Most Beautiful Bridge in Dixie.” It has long been a symbol of the nation’s oldest city.

It gets its name from two Carrara marble lion statues that are copies of those found in the Loggia dei Lanzi in Florence, Italy. The statues were a gift of Dr. Andrew Anderson (1839-1924), the builder of the Markland House. The lions reference the name “Leon” in Ponce De Leon, which means “Lion” in Spanish.

Address: Bridge of Lions, Saint Augustine, FL 32084

Text Copy partially provided by Wikipedia available under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License. Click here for original source.

Comments Off on Bridge of Lions

Comments are closed at this time.